Dinner at Firefly

31 Aug

From Katie (Membership & Registration Coordinator):

I consider myself  lucky when I get to tell people I grew up on Firefly Farm. It’s a beautiful, thirty acre plot nestled outside of Canandaigua in the hamlet of Cheshire. My parents farm about an acre and a half of the land to a diverse range of vegetables that are sold to five restaurants in the area, some customers who we do “market baskets” (essentially a CSA basket of sorts), and the Canandaigua Farm Market on Saturday mornings.

Firefly happens to be my ideal “me” space. Even though our office is in Rochester, I make the decision to drive back and forth every day so I have a few hours to be on the farm. You can find me weeding, picking, packing out orders, cleaning vegetables, but it’s the space where nothing can go wrong and only good things come out of the tasks at hand.

yummy summer veggies

Today when I left work I was cranky, and I’ll be the first to admit it. It was a long Wednesday, and nothing went the way it was supposed to, but as I cooled down on my drive home I knew it would get better quickly. I first stopped by Good Luck Restaurant (on Anderson Ave in Rochester) to drop off a bag of veggies the chef had forgotten when he picked up his order from Firefly (he’s probably our biggest customer). He turned my mood around by giving me a taste of the most beautiful tomato sauce he was making with Firefly tomatoes and other assorted local goodies. As I got closer to Canandaigua, my mom called me to remind me to stop by Rosecrest Farm to pick up eggs. Three dozen local eggs later, I was refreshed from the day, and couldn’t get to get home… and as soon as I stepped through the door the most amazing smell was coming from the oven. My mom was roasting eggplant, summer squash, garlic, tomatoes, and peppers (see picture on left)! If you haven’t roasted those kinds of veggies, then you’re missing out. Also on the menu: freshly picked corn (boiled), baby golden Corolla potatoes with fresh basil (boiled), and absolutely delicious cheese from Muranda Cheese Company.

Locavore month for me is more of a celebration of my family, the people who buy our veggies, the chefs who support our farm, and most importantly all the other farmers who do what we do and all the consumers who will continue to support the local/organic movement whether it’s September or not!

Share Your Thoughts!

