Corn Cob Stock and Corn Soup Recipe

6 Sep

[From Rachel]: I’d been hearing about boiling corn cobs down to make some soup, so I checked out a recipe for corn soup that would use a corn stock.  The one I found needed some locavore edits, and I’m pretty bad at following recipes anyways.  Here is the original ingredients list:

Yield: 6 servings

  • 3 large or 4 small ears fresh sweet corn
  • 1 small red or other thin-skinned potato
  • 2 cups chicken broth or water, plus 2 cups more water
  • 1 tsp. salt (1/2 tsp. if using canned broth)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 Tbs. butter
  • 1 leek
  • 1 onion
  • 1 stalk celery
  • 1 small jalapeño pepper, seeds removed
  • 1 tsp. fresh thyme leaves, or 1/2 tsp. dried
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped fine
  • Salt and white pepper
  • 1-2 tsp. dry white wine, or 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 2-4 tablespoons heavy cream, to taste
  • 2 Tbs. chopped cilantro or finely slivered sweet basil leaves

I had or could obtain everything locally except cilantro, the bay leaf and the acid (wine or lemon juice).  I haven’t given up salt and pepper, so that stayed.  I’m not one to normally make creamy soups, but I guess you could keep in the cream…high-quality local organic dairy wouldn’t be hard for me to get around here, but I just don’t use that much cream.  Since I’m on a major thai-basil kick, I decided to sub in a few thai basil leaves in the corn-cob stock-making process.  So here’s how it went after:

Yield: 6 servings

  • 3 large or 4 small ears fresh sweet corn: used 5 ears because I figured more is better when you are a Pennsylvania native who is known to eat 6 ears of corn in a sitting
  • 1 small red or other thin-skinned potato: didn’t use it, but could have gotten a local potato
  • 2 cups chicken broth or water, plus 2 cups more water: corn stock instead
  • 1 tsp. salt (1/2 tsp. if using canned broth)
  • 1 bay leaf: 4 fresh thai basil leaves from my garden
  • 1 Tbs. butter: easy enough
  • 1 leek: local farm sold through my natural foods co-op
  • 1 onion: my CSA
  • 1 stalk celery: found one sitting in fridge, definitely from a local farm but who knows which, and i forgot to add it in anyways
  • 1 small jalapeño pepper, seeds removed: most of a thai chili pepper from a local farm
  • 1 tsp. fresh thyme leaves, or 1/2 tsp. dried: felt like parsley instead
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped fine: CSA
  • Salt and white pepper: cheats/givens
  • 1-2 tsp. dry white wine, or 1 tsp. lemon juice I’m sure acid would be nice, but not sweating this one
  • (2-4 tablespoons heavy cream, to taste)
  • 2 Tbs. chopped cilantro or finely slivered sweet basil leaves: my garden
  • Lots more basil and herbs: my garden
  • Green pepper

The stock was simple–I just cut off the kernels and threw the cobs in a pot with water to cover them by an inch or so.  I let that simmer for an hour.  Meanwhile, I chopped other veggies and managed to make a pesto with local sheep’s milk cheese, local oil, and not-local-but-maybe-one-day-would-be sunflower seeds.  The apartment smelled great.  You know what else I did?  While cleaning up from dinner, I figured I’d taste one of the boiled cobs too.  Yup, I slurped up a little warm broth straight out of that cob…nothing was going to waste.

Corn broth and sauteed local delights topped with almost-local pesto.

Anyways, I used my basic soup-making technique for this light and summery soup (this ALWAYS works).  I sautéed the aromatic veggies (onion, leek, garlic, pepper) till they started to brown, then added in the celebrity vegetable: corn (and it’s not really a vegetable either).  I actually realized that I had a lot of kernels, so I put some into the freezer.  Not enough for winter, but if I do that a few more times, I’ll really make some progress on being a locavore in the winter.  Once they started to cook and smell sweet, I ladled in the broth and some water.  I threw in the herbs, didn’t end up adding any salt or pepper.  I was hungry, so I let it cook for about 15 minutes.  I ended up with a very light and refreshing broth-with-veggies (I think to be a soup it would need to meld together longer), and I was pleased.  I topped it with some stir-fried SoyBoy tempeh and farmers’ market veggies…since corn is a grain, not a veggie, to me.  And some of that aspires-to-be-local pesto.

2 Responses to “Corn Cob Stock and Corn Soup Recipe”

  1. trueindigo September 6, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    As a Pennsylvania native, I too just love the additional corn. Kudos to your blog for the Locavor focus and giving me a great new vegetarian soup recipe to try!

  2. Glenda September 7, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    i’m a cook like you! always revising based on what I have on hand and what I prefer. FYI a splash of local cider vinegar as acid substitute for lemon.

Share Your Thoughts!

